ISSM Meeting Prizes

Will you be the next ISSM prize winner?

At every World Meeting on Sexual Medicine the ISSM hands out a number of prestigious prizes to recognize and celebrate dedication and innovation in sexual medicine. The prizes will be handed out during the World Meetings (either in person or virtual).

ISSM awards the following prizes:

ISSM Zorgniotti-Newman Prize
USD 2500
For the best paper (both basic and clinical research projects) on erectile dysfunction.

Dr. Herbert F Newman was one of the major scientific contributors in the field of the physiology of penile erection. Dr. Newman was awarded the first Jean-Francois Ginestie Prize at the 4th International Symposium for Corpus Cavernosum Revascularization in Paris 1984. Physician and co-researcher Dr. Jane Northrup of New York, New York has donated a new prize to be given in her husbands memory at this international symposium. The prize offered to encourage and promote research, is being awarded to a participant at the congress who has submitted an outstanding original work on any clinical investigative project concerning erectile dysfunction.

Female Sexual Dysfunction prize
USD 2500
For the best paper in Women’s Sexual Health.

ISSM Emil Tanagho Prize
USD 2500
For the best innovative research presented during the WMSM (based on abstract submissions)

Dr. Emil Tanagho was a formal Chairman of the Department of Urology at University of California, San Francisco, USA. He is a pioneer in neurourology, urodynamics and bladder reconstruction. He mentored many prominant members of ISSM including Wayne Hellstrom, Gregory Broderick, Gerald Brock, Serge Carrier, and Tom Lue. After the ISSM meeting in San Francisco, Tom Lue proposed to the ISSM executive committee to establish the Tanagho Prize to encourage investigators to continue the scientific exploration of physiology and pathophysiology of sexual dysfunction as well as innovations in diagnosis and treatment.

NEW The ISSM Mental Health Prize
USD 2500
For the best paper on psychology/behavioral health

Jean François Ginestié Prize ENDED 2014
USD 2500
For the best paper on basic science on sexual medicine

The (ISSM) decided in 1984 that it should recognize cutting‐edge research with awards at the biennial meetings. The “Jean François Ginestié Prize” first awarded in 1984, of 15.000 French francs (± US$ 2,500), was funded by the family of this French pioneer in the field of ED (he did the first arteriographies of the pudendal arteries). This prize awarded the best paper on basic science.  The Fund was terminated in 2014.

Will you be among these distinguished prize winners?

2018: World Meeting on Sexual Medicine, Lisbon, Portugal

Zorgniotti-Newman Prize: Galanin administration partially restores erectile function after cavernous nerve injury and mediates endogenous nitrinergic nerve outgrowth in vitro

Emmanuel Weyne1, Johanna L Hannan2,3, Thomas Gevaert1, Yodi Soebadi1, Hotaka Matsui3,4, Fabio Castiglione1, Koenraad van Renterghem1,5, Dirk De Ridder1, Frank Van der Aa1, Trinity J Bivalacqua3, Maarten Albersen1
1 KU Leuven and University Hospitals, Department of Urology, Leuven, Belgium, 2 East Carolina University, Department of Physiology, Greenville, United States of America, 3 Johns Hopkins, Brady Urological Institute, Baltimore, Belgium, 4 University of Tokyo, Department of Urology, Tokyo, Japan, 5 Department of Urology, Jessa Hospital, Hasselt, Belgium

Emil Tanagho Prize: Antagonizing penile smooth muscle contraction by inhibition of Orai calcium channels. A potential therapeutic target in erectile dysfunction

Angulo, J1; El Assar, M2; Romero-Otero, J3; La Fuente, JM4; Fernández, A1; Sánchez-Ferrer, A2; Sevilleja-Ortiz, A1; García-Gómez, B3; Medina-Polo, J3; Rodríguez-Mañas, L5
1: Hospital Universitario Ramón y Cajal, Spain; 2: FIBio Hospital Universitario de Getafe, Spain; 3: Hospital Universitario Doce de Octubre, Spain; 4: Hospital Santo Antonio, Portugal; 5: Hospital Universitario de Getafe, Spain

Best Abstract Presentation – Psychosexual, Gender and Sexology: Is gender affirming hormonal therapy linked to aggression in transgender people?

Defreyne, J1; T’Sjoen, G1; Bouman, WP2; Brewin, N2; Arcelus, J2
1: Ghent University Hospital, Belgium; 2: The Nottingham Centre for Transgender Health, Nottingham, UK

Best Abstract Presentation – Female Sexual Dysfunction – Clinical: Efficacy and safety of on-demand use of 2 treatments designed for different etiologies of female sexual interest/arousal disorder: 3 randomized clinical trials

Tuiten, A1; van Rooij, K2; Bloemers, J2; Eisenegger, C3; van Honk, J4; Kessels, R1; Kingsberg, S5; Derogatis, LR6; de Heede, L7; Gerritsen, J8; Koppeschaar, HPF1; Olivier, B9; Everaerd, W10; Frijlink, HW11; Höhle, D12
1: Emotional Brain BV, Almere, The Netherlands; 2: Emotional Brain BV, Almere, The Netherlands; Utrecht Institute for Pharmaceutical Sciences and Rudolf Magnus Institute of Neuroscience, Utrecht University, Utrecht, The Netherlands; 3: Neuropsychopharmacology and Biopsychology Unit, University of Vienna, Vienna, Austria; 4: Department of Experimental Psychology, Utrecht University, Utrecht, The Netherlands; (IDM), University of Cape Town, Department of Psychiatry and Mental Health, University of Cape Town, South Africa;; 5: Reproductive Biology and Psychiatry, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, OH, USA; MacDonald Women’s Hospital, Cleveland, OH, USA; 6: Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, MD, USA; Maryland Center for Sexual Health, Lutherville, MD, USA;; 7: Exelion Bio-Pharmaceutical Consultancy BV, Waddinxveen, The Netherlands; 8: Emotional Brain BV, Almere, The Netherlands;; 9: Department of Psychopharmacology, Utrecht University, The Netherlands Department of Psychiatry, Yale University School of Medicine, New Haven, CT, USA; Groningen Institute for Evolutionary Life Sciences, University of Groningen, The Netherlands; 10: Department of Psychology, University of Amsterdam, Amsterdam, The Netherlands; 11: Research Group of Pharmaceutical Technology and Biopharmacy, University of Groningen, Groningen, The Netherlands; 12: Alan Turing Institute Almere, Almere, The Netherlands

Best Abstract Presentation – Preclinical: Galanin mediates endogenous nitrinergic nerve outgrowth in vitro and partially restores erectile function after cavernous nerve injury in vivo

Weyne, E1; Hannan, JL2; Matsui, H3; Sopko, N4; De Ridder, D5; Bivalacqua, TJ4; Van der Aa, F5; Albersen, M5
1: KU Leuven University and University Hospitals, Belgium; 2: East Carolina University, Department of Physiology, Greenville, United States of America; 3: University of Tokyo, Department of Urology, Tokyo, Japan; 4: Johns Hopkins, Brady Urological Institute, Baltimore,United States of America; 5: KU Leuven and University Hospitals, Department of Urology, Leuven, Belgium

Best Abstract Presentation – Male Sexual Dysfunction – Clinical: Testosterone replacement therapy is able to reduce prostate inflammation in men with BPH, metabolic syndrome and hypogonadism: preliminary results from a randomized placebo-controlled clinical trial

Rastrelli, G1; Cipriani, S1; Lotti, F1; Cellai, I1; Comeglio, P1; Boddi, V1; Della Camera, P1; Palma, M1; Gacci, M1; Serni, S1; Maggi, M1; Vignozzi, L1
1: University of Florence, Italy

Best Surgery Video Presentation: How to do a circumcision, when the foreskin is welded to the glans. The ROLOCS (Restoration Of the Lost Obscured Coronal Sulcus) procedure

Skrodzka, M2, Ayers, J1, Rea, A1, Hadway, P1, Britnell, W1, Muneer, A2, Malone, P1, 2
1: The Royal Berkshire Hospital, Reading; 2:University College London Hospital


Members Only


ISSM Update