SLAMS

SLAMS: Sociedad Latinoamericana de Medicina Sexual

The SLAMS (Latin American Society for Sexual Medicine) was founded as SLAI (Sociedad Latinoamericana de Impotencia) in 1990 during the IV World Congress of Impotence held in Rio de Janeiro; in 1996 it became a chapter of the ISIR (International Society for Impotence Research).

Since 1993 we have biannual meetings (Buenos Aires, Montevideo, São Paulo, Chile, Acapulco, Rio de Janeiro, Cartagena de Indias, Punta del Este, Lima, Florianopolis, and Cancun.) The official languages of our society are Portuguese, Spanish and English.

In 1999 we had our congress in Acapulco, beginning a new era in our society. In  2001 our meeting in Rio was really a landmark as we had 712 attendees with people from 25 different countries. In this meeting the name of our society was changed to SLAIS (Latin American Society for Sexuality and Impotence Research) and we added the figure of a treasurer to the Executive Committee.

During our Business Meeting held in the Congress in Punta del Este, Uruguay, in December 2005, it was decided to change the Society's name to Latin American Society for Sexual Medicine - SLAMS.

SLAMS next meeting will be in Lima, Peru, in 2017.

Our website is http://www.SLAMSnet.org and our email is info@SLAMSnet.org 

Board of Directors and Executive Committee  -  2015-2017:

President
Eusebio Rubio Aurioles (Mexico)
presidente@slamsnet.org
alternative e-mail: eusebiorubioaurioles@gmail.com

Vice-President
Joao Afif Abdo (Brazil)
vicepresidente@slamsnet.org
alternative e-mail: afif@abdo.med.br

Treasurer
Fernando Facio
tesorero@slamsnet.org
alternative e-mail: fnfacio@yahoo.com.ar

Secretary General
Adrian Momesso (Argentina)
Secretariogeneral@slamsnet.org
Alternative e-mail: adrianmomesso@gmail.com

Executive Committee
Carmita Helena Najjar Abdo (Brazil), carmita.abdo@uol.com.br
Alejandro Carvajal Obando (Colombia), sexualidadyfertilidad@gmail.com
Arai Vela Mosquera (Ecuador), iaralev22@hotmail.com
Ralmer Nochimówski Rigoletto (Brazil), rnrigoletto@ig.com.br

Ex Officio
Sidney Glina (Brazil), glinas@terra.com.br
Luiz Otavio Torres (Brazil), luizotaviotorreslot@gmail.com
Miguel Alfredo Rivero (Argentina), marivero@netizen.com.ar
Geraldo Faria (Brazil), faria@urologiabrasil.com.br
Edgardo F. Becher (Argentina), ebecher@cdu.com.ar


1st INTERNATIONAL COURSE ON SEXUAL MEDICINE AND HUMAN SEXUALITY – SLAMS 2009 VIA INTERNET

In 2009 the Latin American Society for Sexual Medicine – SLAMS-, introduced its 1st. International Course “Sexuality and Sexual Medicine 2009” via internet. The Course is Spanish and Portuguese. For further information: www.slamsnet.org / info@slamsnet.org